Ramos leads Cangolf Am Open cast


    SEAN Ramos sets out not only for back-to-back title drive in the Canlubang Amateur Open Championship but also to toughen up for the SEA Games next month as he leads the stellar cast vying in the 19th staging of the event teeing off this Wednesday, Oct. , at Cangolf’s North and South courses in Laguna.

    Ramos bested John Hay’s Paolo Wong by three to rule last year’s edition of the annual tournament, with the Camp Aguinaldo bet all primed up for a repeat in the three-day tournament that also serves as part of his buildup for the coming biennial games at the Luisita Golf and Country Club in Tarlac.

    Ramos clinched a berth in the national team by placing third in the grueling qualifier put up by the National Golf Association of the Philippines last June, joining the likes of Aidric Chan and Carl Corpus with Luis Castro nailing the fourth and alternate slot following his victory in the Indonesian Amateur Open last August.

    Out to foil Ramos’ bid in the event backed by NGAP and hole-in-one sponsor The Turf Company and Texas Eagle are Elee Bisera, who took the low amateur honors in the just concluded ICTSI Apo Golf Invitational in Davao, and fellow Luisita members Danilo Cruz and Jhondie Quibol, Southwoods’ Paqo Barron, David Guangco and Jung Jae Hyung, Lloyd Labrador and Ronel Tagaan of Apo Golf and Alabang’s Miguel Ilas.

    Organizers expect 150 players to vie in the event supported by Silver sponsors Pacsports Phl Inc., Mega Fiber and Bedarra Holdings, Inc., and Bronze backers MUST Consultancy and Emdee Chem Marketing Corp., including Nicole Abelar, Laurea Duque of Alabang, Flor Pastor of Fernando Air Base, Summit Point’s Kim Myo Sook, Riviera’s Min Seo Kwon, Dayun Kang and Tae Yon Kwon and club bet Jona Magcalayo.