PSA rites: Petecio, Diaz lead major awardees


    A BOXING world champion and an Olympic silver medalist are among those receiving major awards in next month’s SMC-Philippine Sportswriters Association Awards Night at the Centennial Hall of the Manila Hotel.

    Nesthy Petecio and Hidilyn Diaz lead the 12 personalities who will receive major awards from the country’s oldest media organization in the March 6 gala night presented by the Philippine Sports Commission, Milo, Cignal TV, Philippine Basketball Association, Rain or Shine, and Air Asia.

    The two are members of Team Philippines that will be honored with the coveted Athlete of the Year award after regaining the Southeast Asian Games overall championship last December.

    Petecio, 27, won the featherweight gold in the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships in Ulan-Ude, Russia, while Diaz, 29, a silver medal winner in the 2016 Rio Olympics, bagged a silver in the Asian Championships and a pair of bronze in the World Weightlifting Championships.

    Pole vaulter Ernest John Obiena, the country’s first qualifier for the Tokyo Olympics, is also a major awardee for topping a qualifying meet in Chiara, Italy. He also won gold medals in the Asian Athletics Championship and the Summer Universiade.

    Two other world boxing champions are also in the honor roll list – reigning International Boxing Federation super-flyweight title holder Jerwin Ancajas and World Boxing Organization bantamweight king Johnriel Casimero.

    The other major awardees are sixth-time UAAP women’s champion National University, five-time PBA Philippine Cup winner San Miguel Beermen, and five-time MVP June Mar Fajardo.

    Completing the list of major awardees are golfers Juvic Pagunsan, Aidric Chan, and Princess Superal, and Horse of the Year Union Bell.

    Still to be named are recipients of special citations, the Milo Junior Athletes of the Year, the regular Tony Siddayao awardees, and the Chooks-To-Go Fan Favorite Award.