Official list of POC candidates released


    THE Philippine Olympic Committee electoral committee headed by Atty. Teodoro Kalaw III last Saturday released the official list of candidates for the Nov. 27 polls and announced that those questioning candidacies have until Nov. 13 to do so.

    The rosters of incumbent POC president Rep. Bambol Tolentino, who is running for reelection, and challenger Atty. Clint Aranas, World Archery Philippines president, meet the eligibility requirements set in the POC constitution and by-laws, Kalaw said.

    Besides Kalaw, the other members of the committee are UP president Atty. Danny Concepcion and Frank Elizalde, the former International Olympic Committee representative to the Philippines.

    Running with Tolentino are triathlon head Tom Carrasco, chairman; basketball chief Al Panlilio, first vice president; pentathlon and fencing honcho and Ormoc Mayor Richard Gomez, second vice president; gymnastics head Cynthia Carrion, treasurer; and baseball head Chito Loyzaga, auditor.

    Tolentino’s running mates for board members are windsurfing’s Dr. Raul Canlas, judo head Dave Carter, muay thai secretary general Pearl Managuelod and Rep. Prospero Pichay Jr. of chess.