New volley brass should address ‘revamp’


    THE formation of the new National Sports Association for volleyball comes with a looming overhaul of the women’s squad.

    That’s understandable considering the Pinay spikers failed to win a medal in the 30th Southeast Asian Games in Manila in 2019 despite playing in a lean four-nation field.
    But a revamp of the men’s team that won a historic silver medal?

    It should not cross the mind of the newly-elected officials of the Philippine National Volleyball Federation Inc., according to a highly-reliable Malaya-Business Insight source.

    “Iyong sa men’s team lang ang concern ko, hindi mo siguro dapat galawin iyon kasi naka-silver (medal) pero bahala sila, kung gusto nilang palitan, wala naman tayong magagawa.

    Naka-silver after 42 years, baka mai-gold nila,” the source, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said.

    “Iyong sa babae, sila na talaga bahala doon. Masakit sa ulo iyon. Ang nakikita ko, the more na magkaka-problema sila. Tignan natin.”

    The Premier Volleyball League will reportedly take charge of the Philippine squads, with men’s team coach Dante Alinsunurin likely to stay, while women’s side strategist Shaq delos Santos is reportedly set to be replaced.

    The Marck Espejo-led men’s team wound up second behind Indonesia. It marked the first podium finish for the men’s squad in 42 years.

    The Filipinas, bannered by stars Alyssa Valdez, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Majoy Baron and skipper Aby Maraño, among others, finished last and failed to end a 14-year medal drought.

    The source said it was mission accomplished for the Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas Inc.

    “Nakabalik tayo sa Southeast Asian Games, nakabalik tayo sa Asian Games. To top it all, naka-silver tayo sa Southeast Asian Games sa men’s team,” the source said. “Nobody expected us to be on the podium.”

    Ramon “Tats” Suzara was expectedly elected last Monday as president of the PNVFI in elections supervised by the Philippine Olympic Committee at the East Ocean Palace Restaurant in Parañaque City.

    LVPI secretary-general Ariel Paredes was elected as the new group’s chairman, while the Philippine Volleyball Federation’s Arnel Hajan and the Alliances of Philippine Volleyball Inc’s Donald Caringal were elected as vice president and secretary-general, respectively.

    The other members of the 13-man board are Rodrigo Roque (UAAP/LVPI), treasurer; Yul Benoza (PVF), auditor; and Ricky Palou (PVL), Charo Soriano (Beach Volleyball Republic), Carmela Gamboa (PVF), Karl Chan, former PVF

    president; Tony Boy Liao (APV), Fr. Vic Calvo, OP, (NCAA) and POC legal counsel Atty. Wharton Chan as board members.

    Soriano, in a statement yesterday, said: “Admittedly, the road that paved way toward a united volleyball community had many pitfalls, but today is different – today is all about hope, unity, and commitment.”