More Hall of Fame awardees named soon


    THE Philippine Sports Commission is one step closer in completing the fourth batch of athletes who will be enshrined in the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame.

    The agency’s review committee meets the selection committee this Friday to present their shortlist of 10 athletes.

    “We asked the expertise of our notable sports media friends and form the review and evaluation committee, for they are the timekeepers of the sports scene and have covered the great achievements of our Filipino athletes,” said PSC Chairman William Ramirez.

    The Review and Evaluation Committee is made up of Joaquin Henson of Philippine Star, Eduardo Andaya of People’s Tonight, Lorenzo Lomibao Jr. of Business Mirror, Eriberto Talao of Manila Bulletin, Eduardo Catacutan Jr. of, Jose Antonio of People’s Journal, Reynaldo Bancod of Daily Tribune, and Prof. Theresa Jazmines of the UP College of Mass Communication.

    Among the criteria for nomination followed was that nominees should be a gold medalist in Southeast Asian Games, or at least a silver medalist in any Asian Games or Asian Cup, or regional games or at least a bronze medalist in any Olympic or World Games; or a titleholder or World Champion in any professional or amateur sports competition.

    Athletic performance should have a wide, historic and unprecedented global impact, should have unquestionable integrity either locally or abroad, before and after the event, and non-conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude.