Hall of Fame selection process starts


    THE search for new inductees to the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame organized by the Philippine Sports Commission begins today with a meeting among top sports officials who will lay down the criteria at the PSC office inside the Philsports Complex in Pasig City.

    Among those attending the meeting are PSC chairman Butch Ramirez, who heads the Hall of Fame Committee, and Philippine Olympic Committee chairman Rep. Bambol Tolentino, the committee co-chairman.

    Others expected to attend are Games and Amusement Board chairman Abraham Mitra, POC secretary general Atty. Edwin Gastanes, Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines secretary general Atty. Avelino Sumagui, University Athletic Association of the Philippines executive director Atty. Rene Saguisag Jr., and multi-titled swimmer and Philippine Olympians Association President Akiko Thomson Guevara.

    Among those who have been enshrined to the Hall of Fame are Filipino Boxing legend Gabriel “Flash” Elorde, Asia’s first chess grandmaster Eugene Torre, former Asian track queen Lydia de Vega, and former bowling world champions Rafael “Paeng” Nepomuceno and Olivia “Bong” Coo.