Hall of Fame nominations extended


    NOMIATIONS for the fourth enshrinement rites of the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame has been extended until January 31 next year.

    “In light of the continuing pandemic, the selection committee have decided to extend the nominations to give equal opportunity for the public to submit their nominations, and for us to study it,” said PSHOF 2020 Committee chair and Philippine Sports Commission chief William Ramirez.

    The rites were originally set to be held last week.

    Ramirez added the committee is looking into the possibility of holding the rites online due to the current restrictions on mass gatherings.

    “We have to make proper adjustments to ensure the safety of everyone,” he said.

    Ramirez was joined by Games and Amusements Board chairman Abraham Mitra, Philippine Olympic Committee Secretary-General Atty. Edwin Gastanes, Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines Secretary-General Atty. Avelino Sumagui, UAAP Executive Director Atty. Rene Saguisag Jr., and Philippine Olympians Association president Akiko Thomson Guevara.

    Among the past recipients of the award were Filipino boxing legend Gabriel “Flash” Elorde, Asia’s first chess Grandmaster Eugene Torre, Asia’s fastest woman Lydia de Vega, and Bowling World champions Rafael “Paeng” Nepomuceno and Olivia “Bong” Coo.

    The committee is scheduled to meet anew on Dec. 1 to finalize other matters, among them the new date of the enshrinement ceremonies.