Fajardo, Perez lead honor roll


    SIX-time PBA MVP winner June Mar Fajardo and Rookie of the Year CJ Perez lead the initial honor roll list to be recognized in the 2019 PBA Press Corps Awards Night next week at the Novotel Manila in Araneta City.

    The San Miguel premier big man is the recipient of the Order of Merit for having garnered the most number of Player of the Week honor last season, while the prolific Columbian guard emerged as the new scoring champion, becoming the first rookie to lead the league in scoring since Eric Menk in 1999.

    The awards are just two of the total 11 accolades to be handed out in the March 16 affair presented by Cignal TV.

    A new batch of the All-Interview team will be honored, too, as well as the two Finals MVPs of last year’s PBA D-League.

    Comprising the All-Interview team, which is given to personalities who churned out quotable quotes and always made themselves available for interviews to the working men and women of the PBA beat, are Kiefer Ravena, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, Christian Standhardinger, and coach Yeng Guiao.

    The D-League Finals MVPs is composed of Cignal-Ateneo’s Thirdy Ravena (Aspirant’s Cup) and Hessed Gabo of BRT-Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare (Foundation Cup).

    Other awards to be given are the Game of the Season, All-Rookie Team, Mr. Quality Minutes, Defensive Player of the Year, President’s award, and the Danny Floro Executive of the Year.

    Highlight of the night is the naming of the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Coach of the Year, named after the great late “Maestro” of local basketball.

    San Miguel Beer’s Leo Austria and Tim Cone of Barangay Ginebra are disputing the coveted trophy.