Fajardo leads BPC race


    FIVE-TIME Most Valuable Player winner and eight-time Best Player of the Conference honoree June Mar Fajardo is in the running for another precious hardware as the leader of the BPC race in the 2019 PBA Governors’ Cup.

    Fajardo is locked in a tight race with CJ Perez of Columbian Dyip, NLEX’s Kiefer Ravena, TNT KaTropa’s RR Pogoy and Meralco’s Raymond Almazan. Perez, however, is out of the race after his team failed to make it past the single-round-robin eliminations.

    With averages of 18.8 points, 13.6 rebounds, 1.9 assists and 1.2 blocks, Fajardo shows the way with 38.4 statistical points, followed by Perez (37.2), Ravena (36.1), Pogoy (35.3) and Almazan (33.8).

    Ravena, Pogoy and Almazan are coming in strong, with their teams enjoying a crucial twice-to-beat advantage in the quarterfinals.

    The first big challenge for Fajardo is to help San Miguel Beer overcome its twice-to-win disadvantage against Ginebra in their quarterfinals battle. If the Beermen win, Fajardo would be a strong bet for a second BPC crown this season after his BPC coronation in the Philippine Cup.

    Ravena, Pogoy and Almazan are all eyeing a first BPC citation. Narrowly missing the Top Five was TNT spitfire Jayson Castro (32.0), the winner of the Commissioner’s Cup BPC plum.