After losing 3 key junior players, Bulldogs may also lose coach

    Coach Goldwin Monteverde
    Coach Goldwin Monteverde

    CARL Tamayo, Gerry Abadiano, Kevin Quiambao. And coach Goldwin Monteverde?

    National University lost three prized high school players last Saturday. In what could be another stunning turn of events, the Bulldogs could find themselves without new coach Monteverde, who replaced Jamike Jarin at the helm just last November.

    A team insider told Malaya-Business Insight yesterday that a disagreement between NU management and Monteverde likely led to the exodus of Tamayo, Abadiano, and Quiambao, adding Monteverde could also follow suit.

    “Siguro kasi parang hindi nagka-intindihan, or si coach Goldwin ang magre-resign,” said the insider, who spoke on condition of anonymity.

    The 6-foot-7 big man Tamayo, who bagged the finals MVP award in the last UAAP juniors’ cage wars, and 6-foot guard Abadiano, both Gilas Pilipinas Youth standouts, have packed their bags and moved to University of the Philippines. The 6-foot-8 Quiambao, a center, has transferred to La Salle.

    The source said the transfer of the trio, considered among the top high school players in the country and vital cogs in the Bulldogs’ future, had the blessings of Monteverde.

    “Hindi puwedeng bitawan iyong three players na iyon (nang basta-basta) because surely they are potential championship materials, knowing them (so it has the blessing of coach Goldwin),” explained the source.

    With Monteverde calling the shots, the Bullpups completed a 16-0 season sweep of the junior’s tourney en route to their second straight crown last March.

    Quiambao, who finished runner-up in the juniors’ MVP race, will be in Grade 12 next season and can suit up for the Green Archers in the 84th UAAP basketball tournament.

    The Bulldogs also lost gunner Dave Ildefonso, who returned to Ateneo last January.

    NU wound up dead-last last year with a 2-12 card and failed to reach the Final Four for the fifth straight time last year.

    The Sampaloc-based five ended a 60-year drought and last won the title in 2014 behind a team bannered by the likes of now pros Troy Rosario, Gelo Alolino, and Glen Khobuntin.