5 aces contend for Best Player award


    FIVE star players led by Stanley Pringle and Ray Parks are contending for the PBA Best Player of the Conference award during the Philippine Cup bubble season.

    Pringle led Barangay Ginebra to its first all-Filipino crown in the last 13 years while Parks emerged as the top player in the statistical points standings.

    Crowding out the two in the bubble’s highest individual award in lieu of the season MVP were the Phoenix duo of Calvin Abueva and Matthew Wright, along with Parks’ TNT Tropang Giga teammate Roger Pogoy and Terrafirma’s CJ Perez.

    Voting started yesterday and ends on Jan. 11.

    Abueva finished second behind Parks in the statistical standings, followed by Perez, Wright, and Pogoy, respectively.

    Pringle, 33, finished at No. 6 but made a strong case for the award after emerging as the Kings’ top player from the eliminations all the way to the championship of the historic season.

    The BPC winner will be decided based on statistical points and votes from players, media, and the Commissioner’s Office.

    The BPC winner and other individual honors will be announced during the PBA Awards Night to be held virtually on Jan. 17 in place of the annual Leo Awards.

    With a shortened season due to the pandemic, the league decided to do away giving out its regular awards and instead will hand out other special honors.

    Vying for the Outstanding Rookie (instead of Rookie of the Year) are Barangay Ginebra’s Arvin Tolentino, Aaron Black of Meralco, Terrafirma’s Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona of Alaska, and Magnolia’s Aris Dionisio.

    For the Most Improved Player, the deserving candidates are Phoenix’s Justine Chua and Jason Perkins, Barangay Ginebra’s Prince Caperal, Rain or Shine’s Javee Mocon, Raul Soyud of NLEX, and Meralco veteran Reynel Hugnatan.

    Contending for the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award are Abueva, Perez, Barangay Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson, Kevin Alas of NLEX, and Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood.