TOYOTA GAZOO Racing GT Cup 2021 announced

    165

    WHO WILL BE THE FASTEST GR DRIVER?

    TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (TGR) has announced details of the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing GT Cup (TGR GT Cup) 2021, a new series in “Gran Turismo SPORT” for PlayStation4 (PS4).

    The TGR GT Cup is a new global series in which the GR lineup, including GR road vehicles and dedicated racing cars, will participate in competitive racing throughout a season. In addition to the GR Supra and GR Yaris, the recently-announced GR 86 is scheduled for introduction in the middle of the year. By varying the car models for each round, players can enjoy virtual racing with a variety of cars, something that is difficult in real-life motorsports.

    Partly because of the effects of COVID-19, 2020 was a year in which people paid more attention to e-Motorsports than ever, as exemplified by the hosting of the Virtual 24 Hours of Le Mans. Many players from all over the world also participated in the GR Supra GT Cup and the GR Yaris Time Trial, hosted by TGR.

    In addition, after being featured in Gran Turismo SPORT, approximately 1.30 million GR Supra and 530,000 GR Yaris vehicles were purchased, indicating that many players all over the world enjoy the GR models.

    TGR plans to continue an active engagement in e-Motorsports so that motorsports and sports cars will become more familiar to people all over the world and be enjoyed by many generations to come.

    Outline of TGR GT Cup 2021

    Race NameTOYOTA GAZOO Racing GT Cup 2021
    Event PeriodApril – December, 2021
    Event LocationQualifying: Online, across the world (Seven rounds)
    Final: Online final to be held in conjunction with the FIA GT Championship in December (planned)
    Participation RequirementOwner of “Gran Turismo SPORT” for PS4® or PS5™ with software within Gran Turismo. Participants must be six years old or older*2

    *2 Under the laws of the participating countries or regions, even if participants are in the top qualifying rounds online, they may not be able to participate in the final.

    RoundDateCarCourse
    QualifyingRd.1April 25GR Supra’20Weather Tech Raceway Laguna Seca (USA)
    Rd.2May 23GR YarisFuji International Speedway (Japan)
    Rd.3May 30SF19Suzuka Circuit(Japan)
    Rd.4June 62000GTThe Nürburgring (Germany)
    Rd.5July 4GR Supra RCAutódromo José Carlos Pace (Brazil)
    Rd.6July 18GR YarisSardinia (Italy)
    Rd.7August 22GR 86Mount Panorama (Australia)
    FinalFinal Rd.DecemberTBDTBD

    *Schedule and course are subject to change.

    Start Time (differs according to the five regions below)

    RegionStart Time
    Asia12:00, 13:30 (UTC) / 21:00, 22:30 (JST)
    Oceania09:00, 10:30 (UTC) / 19:00, 20:30 (AEST) / 18:00, 19:30 (JST)
    Europe, Middle east, Africa17:00, 18:30 (UTC) / 19:00, 20:30 (CEST) / Next day 2:00, 3:30 (JST)
    North America25:00, 26:30 (UTC) / 18:00, 19:30 (PDT) / 21:00, 22:30 (EDT) / Next day 10:00, 11:30 (JST)
    Latin America23:00, 24:30 (UTC) / 16:00, 17:30 (PDT) / 19:00, 20:30 (EDT) / Next day 08:00, 09:30 (JST)

    *Rd.4 will start 30 minutes before the above times. Start time is subject to change.

    Outline of the TGR GT Cup Final

    DateDecember(planned)
    LocationTo be held online in conjunction with the FIA GT Championship (planned)
    Race overviewThe race will be carried out inviting the top 24 drivers from among those achieving the highest four scores in Rounds 1 – 7 of online races, from the five regions specified by the FIA GT Championship as well as the TGR allotment (regional finalists).
    Driver detailsRegionNumber of selected drivers (planned)
    Europe, Middle East and Africa9
    North America3
    South and Central America3
    Asia4
    Oceania1
    TGR allotment4
    Total24

    Detailed information including the circuits to be used in each round will be published in due course on the TGR GT Cup section of the TGR official website.
    URL:https://toyotagazooracing.com/e-motorsports/
    Also, entries for each race will open 15 minutes before the start of each race at “sports mode” of the “Gran Turismo SPORT”.

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here