IATF partially lifts travel ban to Visayas


    THE Inter-agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) on Tuesday night ordered the partial lifting of a two-week moratorium on inbound travel, including acceptance of locally stranded individuals (LSIs) in a city and four provinces in the Western Visayas.

    The IATF issued resolution 71 which lifted the suspension of inbound travel to Iloilo City, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Antique, all in Region VI (Western Visayas) that started last September 7. Region VI includes Aklan and Capiz.

    The resolution said the re-imposition of the travel ban, extension and lifting of the moratorium implemented by some local government units shall be decided by the regional IATFs.

    Presidential spokesman and concurrent IATF spokesman Harry Roque said this means that residents or travelers bound for Iloilo City and the provinces of Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, and Antique may now proceed with their trip.

    “Good news to the locally stranded individuals from Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Antique and Iloilo City, the moratorium for inbound travel of the residents in these places had already been lifted. You can now go home,” he said.

    Roque reminded travelers to observe minimum health protocols, adding those who exhibit symptoms of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) would not be allowed to travel.

    He added that travelers should expect to undergo swab testing and undergo 14-day quarantine in their destinations.

    The IATF on September 7 imposed a moratorium on inbound travel to Region VI, Iligan City and Lanao del Sur until September 21 on the request of some local government officials amid the increasing number of cases and limited isolation facilities in their areas.

    Iligan City and Lanao del Sur, along with Bacolod City, are under the modified enhanced community quarantine until September 30.

    Metro Manila, Bulacan, Batangas, and Tacloban City are under the general community quarantine while the rest of the country is under the modified general community quarantine.