Duterte appointees compose majority of SC


    PRESIDENT Duterte’s appointees now constitute more than a majority of the 15-member Supreme Court.

    Associate Justice Samuel Gaerlan is the 11th appointee of Duterte to the high court. He filled the post vacated by Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta when he was appointed as Chief Justice last October 23.

    Gaerlan will complete the five-justice to Third Division.

    The other Duterte appointees in the SC are Associate Justices Andres Reyes Jr., Alexander Gesmundo, Jose Reyes Jr., Ramon Paul Hernando, Rosmari Carandang, Amy Lazaro Javier, Henri Jean Paul Inting, Rodil Zalameda, Mario Lopez, and Edgardo Delos Angeles.

    Associate Justices Estela Perlas Bernabe, Marvic Leonen and Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa were appointed to the SC by then president Benigno Aquino III.

    The two Reyeses are set to mandatorily retire in May and September this year.

    Duterte will also choose their replacements from the list that will be submitted by the Judicial and Bar Council.