39 party-list groups to be delisted: Comelec


    THE Commission on Elections (Comelec) yesterday said it is cancelling the registration of 39 party-list organizations.

    The Comelec said the 39 groups will no longer be eligible to participate in the May 2022 elections in accordance to the Party-List System Act.

    Of the total, 30 groups are being considered for cancellation after failing to win any seat in the last two preceding elections.

    They are the Alay Buhay, Ating Koop, AVE, Abakada, Banat, Abamin, Append, Ang Nars, Tao Muna, Ako An Bisaya, Anupa, Consla, ASEAN, Amepa OFW, FICTAP, Global, KMM, Metro, PM, Samako, Sinag, Ito Ang Tama, Tinderong Pinoy, TRICAP, UNIDO, ALL-FISH, Awake, Kamais, PBB, and 1-Ahapo party-list groups.

    The remaining nine party-lists are up for cancellation after failing to participate in the 2016 and 2019 elections.

    They are Ading, 1-AAMOVER, Ang Pamilya, AG, Alagad, ANAD, Kakusa, Kalikasan, and 1-Aani groups.

    Under Republic Act No. 7941, the Commission may, motu proprio or upon verified complaint of any interested party, remove or cancel, after due notice and hearing, the registration of any party-list group organization or coalition for its failure to participate in the last two preceding elections, or fails to obtain at least two percent of votes cast under the party-list system in the two preceding elections.

    On the other hand, Comelec Resolution No. 9366 provides that only party-lists duly registered with the Commission, and which have manifested their desire to participate in the party-list election, may participate in the party-list elections.