21 Coast Guard officials promoted


    PRESIDENT Duterte has promoted 21 senior officials of the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG) to the next higher rank.

    Nine of the officers were promoted from commodore to rear admiral, including Artemio Abu, commander of the PCG’s Southern Tagalog District and concurrent head of the PCG’s Task Force Taal.

    The task force was established by PCG commander Adm. Joel Garcia shortly after the eruption of Taal on January 12 “to ensure maximum assistance will be provided to the affected families and communities.”

    It was involved in the rescue and evacuation of residents affected by the eruption, in the preparation and distribution of relief goods, and locking down of the communities located in Taal Island, among others.

    Also promoted to rear admiral were Eduardo Fabricante, commander of the Surface Support Force; Oscar Endona, commander of the Maritime Service Command; Jose William Isaga, chief of Coast Guard Staff; Allen Toribio, Palawan district commander; Robert Patrimonio, deputy chief of Coast Guard staff for comptrollership; Roland Lizor Punzalan, commander of Internal Affairs Service; Ronnie Gil Gavan, commander of Logistics Systems Command; and Joseph Coyme, deputy chief of Coast Guard staff for human resource management.

    Twelve were promoted from captain to commodore, including long-time Coast Guard spokesman Armand Balilo, who is also the acting deputy of the Coast Guard Staff for community relations service.

    The 11 others promoted to captain were Christopher Villacorte, Giovannie Bergantin, Allan Corpuz, Charlie Rances, Eustacio Nimrod Enriquez, Nelson Torre, Genito Basili, Rudyard Somera, Hostillo Arturo Cornelio, Edgardo Hernando and Zenmond Duque.

    Balilo said the President approved the promotions on February 21.

    The newly-promoted officials are due to take their oath before Transport Secretary Arthur Tugade this week.

    How useful was this article?