2 Maute members, 5 supporters surrender in Lanao


    TWO members and five supporters of the Daesh-inspired Maute Group who took part in the siege of several Marawi City barangays in May 2017 surrendered to the military in Lanao del Sur, the military reported yesterday.

    Maj. Arvin Encinas, spokesman of the Zamboanga City-based AFP Western Mindanao Command, identified the two Maute men as Pacalinog Bantogaranao and Aliyas Ador.

    Bantogaranao and five Maute supporters, identified as Monib Padati, Batalo Hajicaya, Tokiin Cuaro, Micky Hajicaya and Mobarak Hajicaya, surrendered in Lumba Bayabao town around 9:30 a.m. Monday. Ador surrendered around 5 p.m. on Sunday in Butig town.

    The seven yielded an M16 rifle, a KG9 sub-machinegun, an M79 grenade launcher, assorted ammunition and magazines.

    Encinas said the surrender of Bantogaranao and the five others was facilitated by Lumba Bayabao Mayor Mahar Dagalangit.

    Ador gave up through Maliksaif Masjeda, of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front-Joint Center Monitoring Post, and local government officials of Butig town, said Encinas.