New set of PICPA officers


    OVER 35,000 members of the Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants (PICPA) attended the first virtual induction and turn-over ceremonies for its new set of officers led by national president Lope L. Bato, Jr.

    The occasion was memorable for PICPA as it marked many first in the annals of PICPA’s history: first virtual induction with no less than President Rodrigo Duterte as keynote speaker, with many heads of government and private institutions in attendance; a record high 35,000 members from around the globe virtually in attendance; and a term of office that begins with the challenge of a pandemic.

    In his inaugural speech, Bato, who is currently the Lope Laranjo Bato & Co., CPAs (LLB & Co., CPAs) chairman and chief executive officer, said that PICPA and its members “to continue to deliver our mandate as certified public accountants (CPA) as seamlessly as we can, notwithstanding the tribulations, difficulties and limitations.”

    Recognizing the need for upgraded digital information, Bato added that the focus on technology-enabled innovation and digital transformation must be pursued as it aims to secure ISO 9001:2015. “The database on members’ information through the use of EventBank with virtual seminar platforms and payment channel facilities being integrated will facilitate PICPA in reaching out to more than 100,000 members globally,” he said.

    The PICPA president also noted the organization will continue to be actively involved in the International Federation of Accountants, Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants, and ASEAN Federation of Accountants. It will also push for global certifications of Filipino CPA.

    Aside from President Duterte, also in attendance were guest of honors Senator Christopher Lawrence Go; inducting officer Cabinet Secretary Karlo Alexi Nograles; Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez, Cooperative Development Authority Chair Orlando Ravanera; Commission on Audit Chair Michael Aguinaldo, Energy Regulatory Commission Chair Agnes Devanadera, Securities and Exchange Commission Chair Emilio Aquino, Professional Regulation Commission Commissioner Yolanda Reyes, Board of Accountancy Chairperson Dr. Noe Quiñanola, as well as representatives from private and business organizations.