‘Fan Girl’ sweeps 4th The Eddys


    Fan Girl won seven of the fourteen trophies handed out on Sunday’s awards show organized by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) and produced in participation with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP).

    Actor Paulo Avelino and his “Fan Girl” co-star Charlie Dizon brought home the lead acting honors. Blacksheep’s “Fan Girl” was also awarded for best film, best sound for Vincent Villa, best editing for Benjamin Tolentino and best director and best screenplay for Antoinette Jadaone.

    The awards night celebrated many firsts. It was the first online edition, aired on the FDCP Channel (fdcpchannel.ph) and simulcast on the SPEEd Facebook Page, as well as various online platforms of SPEEd members.

    The 4th EDDYS also honored the first Isah V. Red awardees, in honor of the late SPEEd founding chairman.

    The night also delivered a surprise recognition for the FDCP chairman and CEO Liza Dino, whose tireless efforts in support of the Philippine entertainment industry have not gone unnoticed.

    Also emerging winners last Sunday were. Best Supporting Actor Edgar Allan Guzman for the film “Coming Home” and Best Supporting Actress Shaina Magdayao for “Tagpuan.”

    Robi Domingo hosted the 4th The EDDYS, which was directed by OPM icon and singer-songwriter Ice Seguerra.

    Stars populated the virtual EDDYS with their messages and well-wishes, highlighted by the participation of Batangas 6th District Representative and Star for All Seasons Vilma Santos who presented the nominees for best actress and AKTOR chairman of the Board Dingdong Dantes who presented the best actor nominees.

    Rep. Vi was the EDDYS first best actress for “Everything About Her” while Dingdong was the 3rd EDDYS best actor for his role in “Sid & Aya.”

    The best supporting actor trophy was given to Edgar Allan Guzman for “Coming Home.”

    Shaina Magdayao won Best Supporting Actress for her performance in “Tagpuan.”

    The fantasy film “Magikland” won three awards: best cinematography for Rody Lacap, best production design for Ericson Navarro and best visual effects for Richard Francis and Ryan Grimarez.

    Meanwhile, the drama “On Vodka, Beers and Regrets” and the coming-of-age story “The Boy Foretold By the Stars” were tied in the best musical score category. The theme song “Ulang” from “The Boy Foretold By the Stars” was hailed for best theme song.