40 fresh, familiar faces in Binibining Pilipinas 2020


    THE 40 official candidates for the 57th Binibining Pilipinas were chosen from 70 aspirants who submitted their applications before a selection committee headed by BPCI chairperson Stella Marquez Araneta, members of the executive committee and the reigning queens.

    This new era of Binibining Pilipinas presents an exciting roster of girls, a mix of fresh and familiar faces, all bringing with them their unique stories and advocacies on their journeys to the coveted crowns and, hopefully, international pageants.

    The official candidates are: Samantha Panlilio, Rowena Sasuluya, Lois Anne Badando, Patrizia Garcia, Arainne Deseree Vairdo, Princess Kien Guanzon, Shanon Tampon, Meiji Cruz, Patricia Babista, Shaira Marie Rona, Maureen Montagne, Vianca Marcelo, Samantha Bernardo, Hazel Joy Ortiz, Cinderella Faye Obeñita, Alexandra Rosales, Justine Felizarta, Karen Laurrie Mendoza, Kimberly Tiquestiques, Ana Thea Cenarosa;
    Hannah Arnold, Ma. Ruth Erika Quin, Gabrielle Camille Basiano,
    Lovely Mercado, Carina Cariño, Czarina Guiao, Jashmin Dimaculangan, Ma. Francesca Taruc, Honey Grace Cartasano, Noriza Valerio, Graciella Lehmann, Danica Joy Peralta Acuña, Alexandra Faith Garcia, Mercedes Romero Pair, Micca Rosal, Vickie Marie Rushton, Alexangela Salvador, Lesley Anne Ticaro, Bellatrix Tan and Honey Be Parreñas.

    Making a third attempt at the coveted titles are two-time runners-up: Samantha Bernardo and actress Vickie Rushton, who was first runner-up in 2018. Second timers are Fil-Aussie charmer Hannah Arnold, Patrizia Garcia and Meiji Cruz.

    Notable familiar faces from other national searches include Maureen Montagne and Hazel Joy Ortiz. Head-turning fresh faces in the national pageant circuit include Quezon Province’s Patricia Babista, Laguna’s Alexandra Rosales and Bulacan’s Kimberly Tiquestiques.

    The contestants will showcase their exceptional artistic skills today at the talent competition at the New Frontier Theater.

    The 40 beauties will be formally presented to media on March 17 with the grand finals scheduled for April 26 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

    Hats off to Reina Hispano Americana Filipinas Katrina S. Llegado for placing 5th runner-up (7th overall) at the 29th Reina Hispanoamericana held in Sta. Cruz, Bolivia last Saturday.

    The coveted title, won by our very own Winwyn Marquez in 2017, went to Regina Peredo of Mexico, who topped the field of 29 delegates worldwide.

    Congratulations to Leonard Kodie Macayan of Bagobantay, Quezon City for winning as Mr. Fahrenheit/Mr. Gay World Philippines 2020 last Saturday.

    A 28-year-old account manager and entrepreneur, Kodie succeeded Janjep Carlos, who is Mr. Gay World 2019, and will aim for a back-to-back victory at the 12th Mr. Gay World on May 6 in Knysna, South Africa.