LTO fast tracks opening of motor vehicle inspection centers


    The Department of Transportation (DOTr) and the Land Transportation Office (LTO) are on track to open 32 private motor vehicle inspection centers (PMVIC) nationwide this month.

    The DOTr and the LTO, through the PMVIC Authorization Committee (AC), are fast tracking the ocular inspections to ensure that the PMVICs comply to standards and requirements for activation.

    Giovanni Lopez, DOTr assistant secretary for procurement and project implementation and head of the AC, said of the 138 identified sites, 113 have already been awarded to private operators, with 25 sites still to be awarded.

    The AC is targeting to operationalize 32 sites nationwide by last week of August, pending the results of the ocular inspection.

    “The AC is targeting to activate the 32 PMVIC sites hopefully by the last week of August. We have been conducting ocular inspections, despite travel limitations due to COVID-19, to determine the readiness of these sites. One of the requirements we are looking at is connectivity with the LTO Information Technology system,” Lopez said.

    PMVICs are privately-owned automated vehicle inspection facilities that will not only check a vehicle’s compliance with emission standards but will also test its roadworthiness prior to registration.

    To be made operational this August are PMVICs at the following sites in Luzon:  (Region 1) San Fernando City in La Union, Vigan in Ilocos Sur, Laoag City in Ilocos Norte, Lingayen and Alaminos in Pangasinan; (Region 3) Angeles City, Pampanga; (Region 4A) Dasmariñas in Cavite, San Pedro in Laguna; (Region 4B) Calapan, Oriental Mindoro; (National Capital Region) Pasig City, Valenzuela City; (Region 5) Pamplona and Pili in Camarines Sur, Sorsogon City, and Daet, Camarines Norte.

    In the Visayas, PMVICs will operate in the following: (Region 6) Roxas City, Capiz; (Region 7) Mandaue City (2 sites), Danao City and Naga City in Cebu, Dumaguete City in Negros Oriental (2 sites), Tagbilaran City and Tubigon in Bohol, Bais City in Negros Oriental; (Region 8) Maasin City in Southern Leyte and Ormoc City, Leyte.

    For Mindanao, motorists will soon be able to have their motor vehicle inspected at the following PMVIC sites: (Region 9) Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay; (Region 10) Iligan City in Lanao del Norte, Ozamis City in Misamis Occidental; (Region 11) Mati City in Davao Oriental, Panabo City in Davao del Norte; (Region 12) General Santos City, Cotabato.

    Following the activation of the 32 PMVICs in August, 29 PMVICs are targeted to be operational in September, 14 in October, three in November, five in December and 25 by January 2021.

    “The operationalization of the remaining awarded sites 30 PMVICs will be for further determination,” Lopez said.