ABS-CBN shuts down regional broadcast service


    ABS-CBN Corp. is closing on Friday, August 28, its regional broadcast operation and online radio station – the latest service of the network to be affected by the denial of its franchise.

    ABS-CBN Regional has been producing various local “TV Patrol” editions for airing on the network’s 21 regional stations for over three decades, serving viewers in the provinces with local and national news presented in their own dialects.

    These are TV Patrol North Luzon (Baguio, Dagupan, Ilocos, Isabela, Pampanga); TV Patrol Bicol (Naga, Legazpi); TV Patrol Palawan; TV Patrol Southern Tagalog (Calabarzon); TV Patrol Central Visayas (Cebu, Dumaguete, Bohol); TV Patrol Negros (Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental); TV Patrol Panay (Iloilo, Capiz, Aklan, Antique, Guimaras); TV Patrol Eastern Visayas (Samar, Leyte); TV Patrol Northern Mindanao (Misamis Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Lanao Del Norte, Caraga, Dipolog); TV Patrol South Central Mindanao (Soccsksargen, Cotabato); TV Patrol Southern Mindanao (Davao); and TV Patrol Chavacano (Zamboanga).

    ABS-CBN Regional will also stop producing new episodes of its nine morning shows.

    In addition, ABS-CBN’s MOR 101.9 For Life! in Manila also bids goodbye to its online listeners.

    Following the non-renewal of its congressional franchise last July 10, ABS-CBN is laying off a significant number of its workforce effective August 31.