November 24, 2017, 5:13 pm
Facebook iconTwitter iconYouTube iconGoogle+ icon

Tabora World Cup keg champ: Ends 14-year Pinoy drought in Mexican tilt

KRIZZIAH Lyn Tabora ended the country’s 14-year drought by clinching the Bowling World Cup international crown in Saturday night (Sunday morning in Manila) in Hermosillo, Mexico, humbling Siti Safiyah Amirah Abdul Rahman of Malaysia 236-191 in the one-game finale.

Tabora, 27, who also represented the country in the 2012 international finals in Poland, earned the distinction of becoming only the fifth Filipino to rule the tourney.

In her second crack at the world’s most prestigious keg title in five years, Tabora refused to blink, crushing Colombia’s Rocio Restrepo 249-222 in the semifinals and trouncing Rahman in the title match.

“I feel very happy and so overwhelmed,” Tabora said moments after clinching the title, enabling her to legendary Paeng Nepomuceno, the late Lita dela Rosa, Bong Coo and C.J. Suarez in the distinguished list of Filipino champions.

“I know people at home have been watching on live streaming and I’ve already got lots of notifications from friends and family. It has been a good year for me. Our ladies team won bronze in the SEA Games and then we got silver in the Asian Indoor Games. But this is far and away the best!” added Tabora, who is set to return home on Tuesday night.

Nepomuceno won the title four times – in 1976 in Teheran, Iran; 1980 in Jakarta, Indonesia; 1992 in Le Mans, France; and 1996 in Northern Ireland.

American Jakob Butturff produced a dominant performance to take the men’s plum. He demolished Colombia’s Oscar Rodriguez 246-201 in the finals after knocking out Malaysia’s Ahmad Muaz Mohd Fishol 266-176 in the semifinals.

Rahman set up the title match with Tabora by ousting last year’s champion and this year’s consistent frontrunner, Sweden’s Jenny Wegner 227-197, while Rodriguez ousted Venezuela’s Ildemaro Ruiz Jr. 232-193 in the other semis match.

The other Filipino entry, Jomar Roland Jumapao, finished 33rd in the men’s division with a 24-game series of 4757 pinfalls.

Suarez won in 2003 in Tegucigalpa, Honduras. Dela Rosa emerged as the first Filipino women’s titlist, doing the trick in Bogota, Colombia in 1978, followed by Bong Coo a year later in Bangkok, Thailand.
No votes yet

Column of the Day

Climate Change Consciousness Week

By DAHLI ASPILLERA | November 24,2017
‘Sen. Legarda stresses urgency for the Philippines to be climate-smart.’

Opinion of the Day

I had a dream

By JOSE BAYANI BAYLON | November 24, 2017
‘If this were not a dream, what would have been the Secretary’s take from it all?’