July 19, 2018, 4:11 am
Facebook iconTwitter iconYouTube iconGoogle+ icon

Hunt for BWC national titles comes to a head

NATIONAL bowler Kenneth Chua posted a 24-game series of 5416 pinfalls to lead seven other male participants into the concluding round of the 2017 Bowling World Cup national finals today at Paeng’s Eastwood Bowl.

Chua, 25, winner of the Philippine International Open last May, added a sizzling 12-game series of 2745 to his first round score of 2671 last Monday at Paeng’s Midtown Bowl in Ermita to pull away from Cebu star Jomar Jomapao by 378 pins.
Jumapao shot 2517 in the second round for a 5038 total that enabled him to jump from third to second.

The other bowlers who made it to the top eight were Nicco Olaivar with 5001, Jay R. Tan (4952), Merwin Tan (4931), Raoul Miranda (4905), Paulo Valdez (4835) and Eric Luciano Aranez (4822).

Last year’s local BWC titlist Lara Posadas and 33 other lady bowlers were still playing their second 10-game series at Paeng’s Midtown Bowl yesterday to determine the top eight finishers who will advance to the national finals today.

National bowler Krizziah Tabora tallied 4247 pins in10 games yesterday at Paeng’s Midtown Bowl to lead seven other pintopplers who will shoot for the ladies’ crown today.

Youthful Alexis Siy came in second with 4146, followed by last year’s winner Lara Posadas (4043), Mades Arles (3959), Liza del Rosario (3925), Liza Clutario (3924), Dyan Coronacion (3764) and Rochelle Munsayac (3708).

Those who failed to advance to the men’s final round were:

Jayson Tubid (4810), John Paule Macatula (4746), Jules Pedrajas (4673), Lorenz Tugade (4518), Norman Lising (4501), John Paul Genciana (4484), Allan Ablang (4465), Angel Dilig (4464), Joebert Buenafe (4432), John Christopher Dee (4403), RJ Magana (4400), Eduard Gella (4385), Ryan Romero (4376), Eugene Suarez (4357), Francis de Leon (4324), Jorel Simbulan (4177), Erwin Cabaneros (4075) and Boyet Delfino (4039).

The top eight in the men’s and ladies’ divisions will play a new format today to determine the titlists who will represent the Philippines in the International BWC competition slated on November 4-12 in Hermosilla, Mexico.

The remaining contenders will bowl one round-robin and positioning on the eighth game. The winner gets 30 points, but the points will be split into 15 each in case of a tie. The top four will move into the semifinals, with No. 1 playing No. 4 and numbers 2 and 3 colliding in best 2-of-3 games.  The winners will dispute the crown.
No votes yet

Column of the Day

Tomodachi Tangle

Bernard Karganilla's picture
‘Jose Rizal’s life is serialized as a Japanese manga (comics).’

Opinion of the Day

The Departure Lounge

Philip S. Chua's picture
By PHILIP S. CHUA | July 19, 2018
‘Growing old is a great privilege denied many. Let us relish every second we have left.’