June 23, 2018, 6:00 am
Facebook iconTwitter iconYouTube iconGoogle+ icon

Agot, Allen, ‘Balangiga’ win at FAMAS

“Balangiga: Howling Wilderness” was adjudged Best Picture at the 66th Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS ) Awards at The Theater at Solaire on Sunday, June 10.

Best director trophy went to Arnel Barbarona for “Tu Pug Imatuy,” while the best performance awards went to Agot Isidro (“Changing Partners”) and Allen Dizon (“Bomba”).

Veteran performer Odette Khan (“Barboys”) and Mon Confiado (“Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko”) were awarded the best supporting actress and actor trophies.

“Balangiga: Howling Wilderness” also brought home four other awards: Best Original Screenplay for Khavn Dela Cruz, Achinette Villamor, Jerry Gracio, Best Cinematography for Albert Banzon, Production Design for Marija Vicente, Timmy Harn and Zeus Bascon and Best Original Song (“Katurog Na”). 

The complete list of winners:

Best Picture: Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

1st place Grand Jury Prize: Tu Pug Imatuy

2nd place Grand Jury Prize: Respeto

Best Director: Arnel Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy

Best Actor: Allen Dizon, Bomba

Best Actress: Agot Isidro, Changing Partners

Best Supporting Actor: Mon Confiado, Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko

Best Supporting Actress: Odette Khan, Barboys

Best Original Screenplay: Khavn Dela Cruz, Achinette Villamor, Jerry Gracio, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Adapted Screenplay: Changing Partners - Based on the musical of the same title by Vincent de Jesus. Adapted screenplay by Vincent de Jesus and Lilit Reyes

Best Cinematography: Albert Banzon, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Production Design: Marija Vicente, Timmy Harn and Zeus Bascon, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Best Editing: Victor Delotavo Tagaro, Yield

Best Sound: Mikko Quizon, Jason Conanan, Kathrine Salinas, John Perez, Nervous Translation

Best Musical Score: Jay Oliver Durias, Respeto

Best Visual Effects: Iar Arondaing, Instalado

Best Original Song: “Katurog Na,” Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Best Short Film: Hilom

Grand Jury Prize for Short Film: Aliens Ata and Dory

Best Documentary Film: Yield

Comedy King Dolphy Memorial Award: Vice Ganda

Male and Female Celebrity of the Night: Joshua Garcia and Julia Barretto

Lifetime Achievement Award: Lav Diaz

Fernando Poe Jr. Award: Coco Martin

German Moreno Youth Achievement Award: Awra Briguela
No votes yet

Column of the Day

Unbridled brazenness

DODY LACUNA's picture
By DODY LACUNA | June 22,2018
‘Outrage over the killing of priests today in our country will persist and, if real justice is not served soon will, in all probability, combine for a growing social and political unrest with a polarized Church.’

Opinion of the Day

Tough days ahead

Jose Bayani Baylon's picture
By JOSE BAYANI BAYLON | June 22, 2018
‘It’s high stakes and tightrope walking that also means that a small miscalculation could upend everything.’